Share this page : facebooktwitterlinkedinmailfacebooktwitterlinkedinmail

If you enter configuration mode with the configure exclusive command, you lock the candidate global configuration (also known as the shared configuration or shared configuration database) for as long as you remain in configuration mode.

  • Allowing you to make changes without interference from other users. Other users can enter and exit configuration mode, but they cannot commit the configuration.
  • If another user has locked the configuration, and you need to forcibly log the person out, enter the operational mode command request system logout pid pid_number.
  • In configure exclusive mode, any uncommitted changes are discarded when you exit.

[edit][email protected]# quit

The configuration has been changed but not committed

warning: Auto rollback on exiting 'configure exclusive'Discard uncommitted changes? [yes,no] (yes)

warning: discarding uncommitted changes

load complete

Exiting configuration mode

When you use the yes option to exit configure exclusive mode, Junos OS discards your uncommitted changes and rolls backs your configuration. The no option allows you to continue editing or to commit your changes in configure exclusive mode.

When a user exits from configure exclusive mode while another user is in configure private mode, Junos OS will roll back any uncommitted changes.